//How to Lock Down Your Health and Fitness Data

How to Lock Down Your Health and Fitness Data

Unlike Apple Health, you can uninstall Google Fit from your phone if you want to make sure it’s not collecting any data on you. If you’re logging data from a connected Wear OS smartwatch and want to stop this from happening, meanwhile, open the Fit app, scroll down to Settings, then tap Sign out.

Fitbit

It’s not yet clear exactly what Google’s acquisition of Fitbit means for your Fitbit or Google Fit data. But now you can open up the Fitbit app on your phone or Fitbit on the web to manage what it collects. You can read Fitbit’s current privacy policy here.

If you use Fitbit, you have a profile page, which your friends can see if you connect up with them. In fact, anyone with a Fitbit account can see it, if they’re looking specifically for you. To manage what’s visible on this profile through the app, tap your avatar on the top left, then Privacy, then choose what’s public and what’s private.

Back on the previous screen you can select Manage data to do just that: pick Manage third-party apps, and you can disconnect anything that’s been hooked up to Fitbit and that can access the health and fitness data that you’re logging.

The other option here is Delete account, which, as you might expect, wipes everything you’ve ever done with Fitbit off the record, including from Fitbit’s servers. If you’re really worried about what Google might be planning in terms of data collection and targeted advertising, then this is one of the options you might be weighing up.

page with Pictures Birthday and Sex text and pink icons
Photograph: FitBit

You don’t get any options for restricting what Fitbit can track, or deleting just certain categories of data: it’s all or nothing. Once you’ve set up a Fitbit tracker or smartwatch, it’ll track everything unless you remove it from the Fitbit app entirely.

Fitbit includes quite a few social features for challenging your friends and sharing your goals and achievements with other people. To manage the people you’re connected to—and the people who can see the data you’re sharing)—in the Fitbit app tap your avatar, then your name. From there you can remove or block friends.

Strava

Like Fitbit, Strava encourages social sharing and community interaction, so you need to think about what other people can see in terms of your running routes and your daily step counts, as well as the information that Strava is gathering. You can view the full Strava privacy policy here.

LEARN MORE

How to Lock Down Your Health and Fitness Data

As soon as you open up the Strava app, you’ll see the Following tab, where you can manage the friends, colleagues, and random acquaintances who are keeping tabs on your activities in Strava. From the same screen you can stop these people from following you and block them from trying to follow you in the future.